The Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands is a self-governing British Overseas Territory (OT)1 in the western Caribbean Sea that consists of three main islands: Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. Grand Cayman is home to the bulk of the population (67,676 people), while the Sister Islands were home to 2,238 people in 20192. Non-Caymanians make up around 46.6 per cent of the total population and the majority of the working-age population, reflecting the large share of labour migrants in the Cayman Islands.

The Multi-Country Resident Coordinator's Office for Jamaica, The Bahamas, Bermuda, The Cayman Islands and Turks and Caicos Islands, is located in Jamaica and works under the leadership of one United Nations Resident Coordinator, together with UN teams and partners, to advance sustainable development and cooperation in the Caribbean. 

The UN System is poised to deliver results for Cayman through its pending formalized agreement to the joint framework called the UN Multi-Country Sustainable Development Cooperation Framework (UN MSDCF) in the Caribbean.

The United Nations Country Team, led by the multi-country Resident Coordinators Office in Jamaica is poised to coordinate the expansion of development support best suited to the unique needs and priorities of The Cayman Islands, as well as leverage the convening and mobilizing power of the UN system to support the advancement of the SDGs and The Cayman Islands' national strategic goals.

Currently, The Cayman Islands receive some technical support through the regional specialized agency for health - Pan American Health Organization/ World Health Organization regional office in the Americas.


Reference: United Nations Resident Coordinator's Office (2021, 2020). Common Country Analysis: Bermuda. In Draft.